Minutes – BCTV Annual Members Meeting & Board Meeting – October 1, 2014 - FINAL

| Board Attendees ⁻ I vnn | Barrett Joe Bushev Beat | | | Location: BCTV Studio, Brattleboro Municipal Center | | |
|---|----------------------------|------------|------------|---|------|--|
| Board Attendees: Lynn Barrett, Joe Bushey, Beatriz Fantini, Martin Langeveld, Wendy Mason, Tim Wessel, | | | | | | |
| Absent: none | | | | Call to order: 6:20 pm | | |
| Staff Attendees: Cor Trowbridge, Vlasta Popelka, Jeff Mastroianni, | | | | Called to order by: Tim Wessel | | |
| Roland Boyden, Rich M | lelanson. | | | | | |
| Public Attendees: Sign | in sheet attached (60 atte | endees, 51 | signed in) | Adjourn: 7:48 pm | | |
| | | • | | - | | |
| Agenda Topic | Motion | Moved | Second | Discussion | Vote | |
| Welcoming Remarks | | | | Tim recognized board members, past and present | | |
| from Board Chair | | | | Polls are open until 6:45 PM | | |
| | | | | Upcoming contract renewal and need for volunteers | | |
| "State of the Station" | | | | Studio updates: lighting demonstration, studio can be mini- | | |
| report by E.D. | | | | studio or used with crew – user friendly. | | |
| | | | | • Screencast of new website, video library, online submission. | | |
| | | | | Contract renewal is opportunity for strategic planning | | |
| | | | | • BCTV can charge for services now that we have established | | |
| | | | | value. | | |
| | | | | • The montage won "Best of About Access" from the Alliance | | |
| | | | | Community Media Hometown Media Awards in 2011 and | | |
| | | | | 2013. | | |
| Video Montage: | | | | Created by Roland Boyden. | | |
| The Year in Review | | | | | | |
| 2013-14 | | | | | | |
| Producer Awards & | | | | Roland presented this year's Producer Awards: | | |
| Volunteer Recognition | | | | Community Partner: Landmark College | | |
| | | | | Sponsor of the Year: Sovernet Communications | | |
| | | | | Municipal Partner: Brattleboro Planning Commission | | |
| | | | | Nonprofit Member: Brattleboro Area Hospice | | |
| | | | | Volunteer of the Year: Jan Chaillou | | |
| | | | | New Producer: Karen Davis (First Baptist Church) | | |
| | | | | Series of the Year: Energy Week with George Harvey & Tom Finnell | | |
| | | | | Producer of the Year: Greg McAllister | | |
| | | | | MVP Crew (penlights): | | |
| | | | | Joe Bushey, Jan Chaillou, Maria Dominguez, Russ Grabiec, | | |
| | | | | Ian Kiehle, Debbie Lazar, Greg McAllister, Em Richards, | | |
| | | | | ian Kienie, Deuble Lazar, Oreg Wickinster, Em Kienarus, | | |

Respectfully submitted by Lynn Barrett

| Member Business | | | | Mark Rouleau, Kip Tewksbury, Kathryn Turnas Cor presented this year's Special Awards: <u>All About Access Award</u> : Roland Boyden <u>Lifetime Achievement Award:</u> Tim Wessel (outgoing) <u>Board Tribute</u> : Jerry Goldberg (resigned) <u>Board Tribute</u> : Daryl Pillsbury (outgoing; presented previously) | |
|--|--|----|--------------------|--|----------------|
| Amendment of Bylaws | Motion to approve the changes to Sections III and IV of the Bylaws, as presented. | LB | JB | Board president Tim Wessel summarized the proposed changes. Ian Kiehle asked Tim to clarify that the number of directors will be 5-9 if passed, which was confirmed. | Unan- imous |
| Election of new board members | | | | Tim announced the results of the board election: Lynn Barrett (21 votes), Steve Cormier (21) | As Elected |
| Temporarily Adjourn & Convene BCTV Board Meeting | Motion to temporarily adjourn members meeting to convene a brief board of directors meeting | JB | Greg McAllister | (7:44 PM) | 6-0-0 |
| Election of Officers | Motion to elect a slate of officers: Wendy Mason, President; Joe Bushey, Vice- President; Martin Langeveld, Treasurer; Lynn Barrett, Secretary | BF | ML | No additional nominations. | 6-0-0 |
| Adjourn & Reconvene BCTV Members Meeting | Motion to adjourn board of directors meeting and reconvene members meeting | BF | JB | (7:45 PM) | 6-0-0 |
| Member Comments | | | | None | |
| Adjourn | 7:48 pm | | | | Pass |